National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria - Home
National Assembly
of the Republic of Bulgaria
National Assembly elects Plamen Oresharski as Prime Minister of the Republic of Bulgaria and approves his proposal for the Council of Ministers’ composition and structure

The National Assembly has elected on May 29th, 2013 Plamen Oresharski as the next Prime Minister of Republic of Bulgaria. The deputies have approved his proposal for structure of the government and voted its members.  The candidacy of Plamen Oresharski was supported by 120 members of parliament, 97 voted against.

The structure and the composition of the next cabinet were approved by 119 MPs, while 98 voted against. For the time being the government is to have only one vice-premier – Zinaida  Zlatanova - who shall head simultaneously the Justice Ministry. Tsvetlin Yovchev is the next Interior Minister. Kristian Vigenin is taking over  the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Petar Chobanov – the Ministry of Finance, Dragomir Stoynev – the Ministry of Economy and Energy. Hassan Ademov will lead the Ministry of Labor and Social Policy, Ivan Danov – the Ministry of Investment Projects,  Dimitar Grekov – the Ministry of Agriculture and Foods, Angel Naydenov – the Defense Ministry, Desislava Terzieva – the Regional Development Ministry, Danail Papazov – the Transport, Information Technologies and Communications Ministry. Iskra Mihaylova becomes Minister of Environment and Waters, Health Minister – Tanya Andreeva. Anelia Klisarova will head the Ministry of Education and Science, Petar Stoyanovich -the Ministry of Culture, Mariana Georgieva – the Youth and Sports Ministry.

The newly elected government took oath of office. The President of the Republic of Bulgaria was present at the ceremony, as well as members of the caretaker cabinet, high magistrates, representatives of different religious denominations, diplomats, leaders of state institutions, NGOs, trade unions, employers’ organizations and media editors in chief.

Search form
Key word